Author Topic: "Old" Homes/"New" Mortgages: Disturbing Trend  (Read 3034 times)

Offline kerrymti

• The truth will set us free..and..open their eyes.
"Old" Homes/"New" Mortgages: Disturbing Trend
« on: February 25, 2011, 10:41:23 am »
I am a paralegal and my main task for the last 11 years has been to conduct "title searches".  A title search is almost always conducted any time you purchase a new home or obtain a mortgage (refinance, home equity line of credit, etc.).  Our office writes title insurance and in order to issue a title policy (insuring the 'insured' that there are no liens on the property and that there is no break in the chain of title, further description of title insurance is available, upon request), we must search the courthouse records (in AL, the Judge of Probate holds the records, some states it is the Register of Deeds) for at least the past 30 years, very tedious task, sometimes.

Anyway, all this to say that just since about November, I am seeing a very disturbing trend (speaking for my own little 'corner' of the world, N. Alabama).  This trend is that we have received a multitude of search requests for mortgage closings on real property that does not have (and some that have never had) a mortgage.  These are the middle class that have always paid cash for everything and own 'family' land, many acres, mostly farm land that has been in their families since the original land grants from the U.S.A. 

Since our office also conducts the closings, we prepare the loan documents, etc., we get an idea of the reasoning behind the new mortgage.  In some instances they are paying down on debt, which is a good idea, credit cards, etc.  But, the vast majority are not doing this, the vast majority are helping out family in some way.  Maybe to help a son or daughter keep from going into bankruptcy or foreclosure.