Flicker rate

Author Topic: Flicker rate  (Read 7588 times)

Offline Pupil

• Galactic Defender Zik!
Flicker rate
« on: August 30, 2007, 12:59:30 pm »
Hello Alex,

I've heard you, Jeff Rense, and others mention that the "flicker rates" on the television are specifically timed to cause people to become more susceptible to suggestion. I have no reason to doubt you or Jeff Rense, but this one has me puzzled a bit.

I work in the television industry.  I have never heard in my industry that a 30 Hertz flicker rate makes people especially susceptible to suggestion. The reason that we use 30 frames per second is because we use two interlaced fields to make a frame, and the fields are timed on the 60 Hertz AC power that is generated on the continent.  In Europe, they generate power at 50 Hertz, and they therefore have a 25 frames per second rate (which is why you need to convert European shows before you can view them here).

My question is: Where did you find the research that indicates that certain frame rates make people more susceptible to suggestion? I don't doubt you, but I'd love to see the data and interpret it as someone on the inside of that industry.

Thanks for a great show!

Offline mr anderson

• WeAreChange Brisbane
Re: Flicker rate
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 09:01:45 pm »
I doubt that too, I know when I see bullshit and it's 99% of the time and besides I've watched 24, The unit, Battlestar Galactica, Stargate, Simpsons, Family Guy, South Park, Heroes, Prison break and know that it's fiction and not to take it seriously.

WeAreChange Brisbane
I hold personal views, beliefs and opinions that do not necessarily reflect the beliefs and opinions of WeAreChange Brisbane as a whole.

Our Bitcoin address: 1Fzb4bp48oMr7CFzT3SbkTzKpMSvWW1X1t

Offline nothingtohide

• The Truth Shall Set You Free
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 11:10:49 pm »