Author Topic: I just spent 2 weeks in China. What would you like to know?  (Read 6406 times)

Offline The Masonite

I was in Shanghai, Kunming, and Mile.  I am now a self proclaimed expert on China.

Here is some of the things that stuck out right away...

- their economy is BOOMING!
- there are no fat people.
- minorities are the hardest working people there and they don't bitch about it.
- every cab driver drives a VW Jetta.
- I saw a total of 12 incadescent light bulbs while I was there.  all they use are those pigtail fluorecent light bulbs, even in the streetlights.  Although they do use mercury vapor lights in some places.
- every other car was a Lexus, BMW, Mercedes, GM, Ford, etc.  i saw very few Chinese vehicles.
- airport security is basically the same as here minus the body x-rays.  and when you beep in the medal detector some shweet young thang pats you down no joke!  they make you empty your pockets instead of taking your shoes off.
- the streets in the areas that I stayed were clean except the suburb of Mile which was a trash dump.
- they sell all the name brand stuff that we sell here. Chevrolet, Nike, etc.
- most of their restaurants are down right scary to eat in.
- I saw very few bugs.
- cops basically are lazy bums that hang out in the shade at the police station BSing all day.
- I saw very few military people and the ones that I saw were unarmed.
- the only people sporting guns were bank guards and airport police.
- it's not the police state that we are told that it is.
- grade school students spend up to 10 hours a day at school (5 days a week).
- the only crime that I saw was some guy walking the check at a restaurant and the employees gave chase (he got away after almost knocking me out of his way).
- i tried in vain to find some dog or donkey meat to eat.
- they have McDonalds, Walmart, etc.
- most of the drugs sold in the US are over the counter in China.